Loading...
UTAH FAQ2020-06-12T09:03:26+00:00

UTAH FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

The main reason the vast majority of Oregon residents choose to also get their Utah concealed firearm permit is for the ability to legally carry concealed in Washington state, which the Oregon concealed handgun license by itself does not cover. As an Oregon resident, once you possess both the Oregon and Utah concealed licenses you are legal to concealed your handgun in 35 states across the country! At class we will provide you a up to date color-coded reciprocity map that will be yours to take home for future reference on which states you are legal in.

The application costs are listed below.    

New Application: $63.25 (charged 2 weeks after your packet is received by BCI)

Permit Renewal: $25.00 (every 5 years)

Fees are non-refundable. Only checks, money order, and Visa/MasterCard are accepted.

The Utah Bureau of Criminal Investigation has 60 days from the time they start “processing” your application although it rarely takes that long.  They officially start “processing” your application when they process your payment (check your bank account or credit/debit card statement).

That means they may have your application in their office but not start processing your application from a few days to a month, depending on the amount of applications they are processing.  DO NOT CALL BCI until at least 60 days have passed from the time your payment is processed.

Here at PDX Arsenal we understand that each student has various levels of experience in the safe handling and shooting of firearms. Our carefully crafted curriculum is delivered with passion to ensure that every student who attends is not only confident in the understanding of the material covered, but leaves class with a firm understanding of the laws surrounding firearms, and when the use of force (including lethal force) is justified.

We provide unrivaled post-class follow up care free of charge to answer any & all questions that may arise after class, regardless of how long ago you attended our course!

We are also extremely unique in that we are the only concealed company in Oregon that offers to pair the classroom portion of our concealed carry class with our highly recommended 40% off live-fire instruction. (optional separate classes)

No, it does not.  Utah’s course is structured around Utah’s law’s.  Neither a hunter safety course nor another states firearm course will satisfy the requirements to be signed off on the Utah requirements. You must complete a Utah concealed carry class in-person from a BCI certified instructor.
In accordance with U.C.A. 76-10-523, Utah will honor a permit to carry a concealed firearm issued by another state or county.

Please check our RESOURCES tab for states that honor the Utah concealed license.

It is the responsibility of all Utah concealed firearm permit holders to know and understand the applicable firearm laws of the states within which they plan to visit or venture. For information regarding firearm laws of other states, please contact the respective authority within that state.

Although there is no legal requirement to identify yourself to a law enforcement officer here in Oregon,  it is recommended to do so, we discuss why in class.

If an officer finds or sees a gun on your person during their contact with you, and you have not identified yourself as a permit holder in legal possession of a firearm, the officer may assume you are carrying the gun illegally and may take defensive action. For the safety of all involved, it is recommended to immediately identify yourself to the officer as a permit holder in possession of a handgun. This action gives the officer some assurance they are most likely dealing with a law abiding citizen.

Yes. You can come into the BCI office or call by phone and ask to speak with one of the investigators. If you explain to the investigator what type of problem you have had, he can give you a good idea whether you qualify for a concealed firearm permit or not.

Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification
3888 West 5400 South
Taylorsville, Utah 84129

Any action you take with a gun must be in direct self-defense; otherwise, it may be considered threatening with a dangerous weapon and you could be labeled as the aggressor. You may be criminally charged and you will possibly have your permit to carry a concealed firearm revoked. Carrying a firearm is very serious business. There is no margin for error. If you pull a firearm on someone or even display the weapon, then it must be in self defense or it is not justified.

Get Concealed!

Schedule Your Class Online Today!

JOIN US

CLASS OPTIONS

Oregon

$50/class
  • Package Includes:
  • 4 Hour Presentation
  • NRA Recognized Handgun Safety/ Concealed Carry Certificate

Utah

$70/class
  • Package Includes:
  • When paired with your Oregon CHL you can legally conceal In 35 States Across The Country Including Washington
  • 4.5 Hour Presentation
  • Passport Quality Photo (Taken at Class)
  • FBI FD-258 Fingerprints (Taken at Class)
  • Overnight Shipping w/Insurance to Utah

OR & UT Multi-State (Recommended)

$100/class
  • Package Includes:
  • When paired with your Oregon CHL you can legally conceal In 35 States Across The Country Including Washington
  • 4.5 Hour Class
  • Passport Quality Photo (Taken at Class)
  • FBI FD-258 Fingerprints (Taken at Class)
  • NRA Recognized Handgun Safety/Concealed Carry Certificate
  • Overnight Shipping w/Insurance to Utah

12:00pm – 3:30pm

Please click on the “I” with a circle around it  in the top right hand corner of each date box on the calendar to see that date’s time and location

Must be 21 years or +

Please bring your drivers license or government issued ID

Cash payment only when paying on arrival.

NO REFUNDS WILL BE ISSUED UNLESS CLASS IS CANCELLED OR YOU HAVE AN EMERGENCY AND NOTIFY PDX ARSENAL AT LEAST 24 HOURS BEFORE CLASS

RESERVE YOUR CLASS

TESTIMONIALS

“I went to Bryan Mumford for my CHL after being absolutely flooded with positive reviews and recommendations for his classes. His prices were competitive and he was the only instructor to hold the classes in such a comfortable, relaxing location where it was easy to focus and learn. His class was educational as well as fun. I have joined his fandom and have sent at least a dozen students his way. I recommend him to everyone and tag him in everything. He is an incredible instructor and a wonderful man who is always there for his students, even if you have inquiries a year after his class.”
– Kylie Gerke

“My family I and I decided to contact Bryan for his concealed class. With a younger son we wanted to educate him on the importance of gun safety. Bryan did a great job, not only was my husband and I educated on the laws and regulations but our now 11 year old son walked away with the importance of gun safety and understanding that they are not toys to play with.
I highly recommend PDX Concealed for the whole family.”
– The Mclaughlin family

“I took my Oregon CHL through Bryan (PDX Arsenal) in March of 2015. Bryan is a GREAT instructor! Making sure we knew when we are able to protect ourselves and when not to legally. Taught us firearm safety thoroughly. I HIGHLY recommend PDX Arsenal for your CHL needs!”
– Shylo Dooley

“Great class. Very knowledgeable instructor. I would definitely recommend to others. Thanks Bryan!”
– Chris Taylor