Loading...
OREGON FAQ2020-05-26T11:28:21+00:00

OREGON CONCEALED FAQ’S

The concealed class we offer at PDX Arsenal meets and exceeds all requirements set forth by the state of Oregon. The first step in the process is to take our CHL class where you will be issued a NRA certified basic handgun safety certificate , after that you will finish the process by making an appointment with your local county sheriff station for your fingerprints, concealed license photo and final background check. You must apply for a concealed handgun license in the county in which you reside. Below are the Oregon sheriff station requirements you must meet in order for them to be able to issue you your new concealed license.

  1. Be a U.S. citizen, or a legal alien who can document continuous residency in the United States for at least six months and has declared, in writing, to the INS your intent to acquire citizenship (Form N300).
  2. Be at least 21 years of age.
  3. Have no legal condition that would prohibit you from possessing a firearm under either Oregon or Federal law.
  4. Have no outstanding warrants for your arrest.
  5. Not have been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Services.
  6. Not be an unlawful user of, or addicted to, a controlled substance.
  7. Not be on any form of pre-trial release.
  8. Not be required to register as a sex offender in any state.
  9. Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor, or found guilty of a misdemeanor within four years prior to application, except under ORS 161.295.
  10. Not be subject to a citation issued under ORS 163.735 or an order issued under ORS 30.866, 107.700 to 107.723 or 163.738 (e.g. Stalking or Restraining Orders).
  11. Demonstrate competence with a handgun by any one of the following means:
    • Completion of any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the State Department of Fish and Wildlife or a similar agency of another state if handgun safety was a component of the course;
    • Completion of any National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course if handgun safety was a component of the course;
    • Completion of any firearms safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by law enforcement, community college, or private or public institution or organization or firearms training school utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or a law enforcement agency if handgun safety was a component of the course;
    • Presents evidence of equivalent experience with a handgun through participation in organized shooting competition or military service
    • Is licensed or has been licensed to carry a firearm in this state, unless the license has been revoked
The application costs are listed in the table below.    

New Application $65.00
Renewal License $50.00
Transfer Fee $30.00
Name Change $15.00
Address Change, Replacement $15.00

Fees are non-refundable. Only checks, money order, and Visa/MasterCard are accepted.

Applications are available online.
If you are a New Applicant or a Transfer from another county, you will need to schedule an appointment online. For all other Concealed Handgun License transactions, you do not need an appointment if you fill out our online application. Once the application is completed online, if you pass the background check, a new license will be mailed to you.
You must be at least 21 years of age prior to making application for a concealed handgun license.
Yes. The only exception is if you are a legal resident alien who can document continuous residency in the county for at least six months and has declared in writing to the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services the intent to acquire citizenship status and can present proof of the written declaration to the sheriff at the time of application for the license.
Proof of competency must be presented at the time of your scheduled appointment. Please do not make an appointment until you have met the competency requirement in one of the following ways:

  • Completion of any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the State Department of Fish and Wildlife or a similar agency of another state if handgun safety was a component of the course;
  • Completion of any National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course if handgun safety was a component of the course;
  • Completion of any firearms safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by law enforcement, community college, or private or public institution or organization or firearms training school utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or a law enforcement agency if handgun safety was a component of the course;
  • Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, reserve law enforcement officers or any other law enforcement officers if handgun safety was a component of the course;
  • Presents evidence of equivalent experience with a handgun through participation in organized shooting competition or military service;
  • Is licensed or has been licensed to carry a firearm in this state, unless the license has been revoked; or
  • Completion of any firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a firearms instructor certified by a law enforcement agency or the National Rifle Association if handgun safety was a component of the course.
Maybe. If your DD214 specifically states the words pistol, sidearm or handgun training, it would satisfy the requirement. Words such as “small arms” or “marksmanship” alone will not fulfill the statutory requirement.
Oregon concealed handgun licenses are valid for four years unless otherwise revoked or denied. If you are transferring your permit from another county the expiration date will remain the same as your current permit.
A concealed handgun license allows you to carry a loaded or unloaded handgun concealed upon your person or concealed within your control in a car or other means of transportation.
No. This is a concealed handgun license. See ORS 166.210(4) for the definition of a handgun.
Yes. There are several locations in which you cannot carry a firearm, even with a concealed handgun license, including:

  • Any federal facility — federal courthouses, social security offices, secured areas of airports, airplanes.
  • Posted private property where the owner prohibits firearms possession, and others.
  • Many private businesses have conditions regarding the possession of firearms on their premises.  If you violate these conditions you could, under certain circumstances, be subject to arrest under Oregon trespass laws, in which case, if convicted, your concealed handgun licensee would be seized and/or revoked.
  • National parks marked or posted with signs prohibiting all firearms.
  • Indian reservations or property — you may not carry a firearm concealed without the written permission of the tribal judge; this may also apply to certain casinos on tribal lands.
  • Courts — in a courtroom, jury room, judge’s chambers, or adjacent areas that the presiding judge determines should be free of firearms to ensure the safety of litigants, court personnel witnesses, and others.

PLEASE NOTE: If you plan to carry your handgun, it is important to research the requirements at these locations before you go. Please see the Oregon Revised Statutes for any updated Oregon State restrictions.  If in doubt, contact the facility you plan to visit directly to obtain their policy.

For information regarding the Portland airports please contact the Port or Portland.

You should report the loss of your concealed handgun license to the law-enforcement agency in the city or county in which you lost your license. You can apply online for a replacement. Once the application is completed online, if you pass the background check, a new license will be mailed to you.

The fee for a replacement license is $15.

You should first report your name-change to the DMV. After you notify DMV of your name change, we can issue a card with your new name.

Your driver’s license must display your new name prior to obtaining a new concealed handgun license. You can apply online for a name change. Once the application is completed online, if you pass the background check, a new license will be mailed to you.

The fee for a name change is $15.

Currently, the County Sheriff’s Office sends email reminders from the provided email listed on your application 45 days prior to your license’s expiration. This expiration date is listed on the back of your Oregon concealed handgun license.

You can renew your Oregon CHL online on your local county sheriff’s website. You are not required to be fingerprinted or to provide character references again. Once the application is completed online, if you pass the background check, a new license will be mailed to you.
No. Your valid or expired concealed handgun license is proof that you attended a handgun safety course.

There are no penalties for letting your license expire.  However, without a valid concealed handgun license, you have no authority to carry a handgun concealed.

This is a serious offense and can result in arrest and seizure and revocation of your license.

ORS 166.292(2) states: “Failure of a person who carries a concealed handgun also to carry a concealed handgun license is prima facie evidence that the person does not have such a license.”

Yes. We are mandated by law to fingerprint new applicants for concealed handgun licenses, regardless of whether they have been fingerprinted before.
It generally takes about 10 minutes to apply for your renewal application online.  Assuming there is nothing in your background to preclude you from renewing your license; once your background check is completed, a new license will be mailed to you.
It generally takes about 20 minutes to process new applications. ORS 166.292 allows the Sheriff 45 days to review your new application, conduct a background check and issue you your new concealed handgun license.

At times we could take up to 45 days, but it is our goal to have your new concealed handgun license in the mail to you within 7 business days. It is safe to assume if there are issues that arise as a result of your background check; it will take 45 days for your new license to be issued or denied.

If your concealed handgun license is denied or revoked, you will be sent a certified letter advising you of that fact and the reason for the denial/revocation.
Generally, anything that would cause you to be denied a license when you initially applied would cause your concealed handgun license to be revoked.  Examples would include: new arrests where you are on a form of pre-trial release, any misdemeanor or felony conviction, being named as the respondent of a restraining order that’s in effect.

Please call 503-794-8059 if you have a concern in this area.

Yes.  Oregon law provides an appeal process for denials and revocations through the filing of a petition through Circuit Court. You have 30 days from the date you receive the revocation letter to appeal the decision. For additional information refer to ORS 166.293(5).

JOIN US FOR OUR NEXT CLASS!

05/30 | Happy Valley, OR USA
CONCEALED CARRY CLASS
0
0
0
0
Days
0
0
Hrs
0
0
Min
0
0
Sec

CLASS OPTIONS

Oregon

$50/class
  • Package Includes:
  • 4 Hour Class
  • Hands-On Instruction
  • NRA Recognized Certificate

Utah

$70/class
  • Package Includes:
  • FBI Fingerprints
  • Passport Quality Photo
  • Overnight Shipping to Utah
  • 4 Hour Class

Multi-State Oregon & Utah (Recommended)

$100/class
  • Package Includes:
  • Coverage in 35 States Including WA
  • FBI Fingerprints
  • Passport Quality Photo
  • Overnight Shipping to Utah
  • 4 Hour Class

12:00pm – 3:30pm

Please click on the “I” with a circle around it  in the top right hand corner of each date box on the calendar to see that date’s time and location

Must be 21 years or +

Please bring your drivers license or government issued ID

Cash payment only when paying on arrival.

RESERVE YOUR CLASS

TESTIMONIALS

“I went to Bryan Mumford for my CHL after being absolutely flooded with positive reviews and recommendations for his classes. His prices were competitive and he was the only instructor to hold the classes in such a comfortable, relaxing location where it was easy to focus and learn. His class was educational as well as fun. I have joined his fandom and have sent at least a dozen students his way. I recommend him to everyone and tag him in everything. He is an incredible instructor and a wonderful man who is always there for his students, even if you have inquiries a year after his class.”
– Kylie Gerke

“My family I and I decided to contact Bryan for his concealed class. With a younger son we wanted to educate him on the importance of gun safety. Bryan did a great job, not only was my husband and I educated on the laws and regulations but our now 11 year old son walked away with the importance of gun safety and understanding that they are not toys to play with.
I highly recommend PDX Concealed for the whole family.”
– The Mclaughlin family

“I took my Oregon CHL through Bryan (PDX Arsenal) in March of 2015. Bryan is a GREAT instructor! Making sure we knew when we are able to protect ourselves and when not to legally. Taught us firearm safety thoroughly. I HIGHLY recommend PDX Arsenal for your CHL needs!”
– Shylo Dooley

“Great class. Very knowledgeable instructor. I would definitely recommend to others. Thanks Bryan!”
– Chris Taylor